The woes of home ownership

As a departure from political bickering I decided it would be nice to update our out of town friends on the status of our new house.  Lana and I bought our first home back in November of last year and since then we have steadily been remodeling.  The house was built in 1968 and was in need of some definite updates.  The remodeling was progressing well until I was put on a project at work that required me to work nights for the month of December and January.  Our kitchen has looked like this for the last two months.

dsc01836I finally returned to a normal work schedule last week and I made good use of the extra time.  While I still havent restarted the kitchen project, I did finally hang the crown molding in the bathroom.  I also finally repaired the hole in the hallway that was left after I had removed the old phone booth.  Like I said this house was built in the 60’s.  We have had a 2 foot by 2 foot hole in our hallway since we moved into the house.  I finally taped, floated and textured the hallway and hung the crown moulding.  After the sheetrock was repaired we could finally paint the hallway and hang new doors as well.  Lana was able to help paint the hallway, but she was sore for the last few days because of all of the bending over.  Pregnancy has a way of making you feel old I am told.

dsc01946

dsc01948

Last year was a big year for both Lana and I.  I graduated from graduate school in May.  I landed a job at DuPont in June.  We found out we were pregnant in July.  And we put an offer on our first house in September.  Owning our first home and becoming pregnant has proven to be so much fun and pretty stressful all at the same time.  We are just so very excited about everything in our life right now, and during these hard economic times we are definitely counting our blessings.

The house is finally starting to near completion of the inside remodels.  I have just a few more doors to hang and then I can concentrate solely on the kitchen.  I will have more pictures as we get closer to being finished.  Wish us luck!

One Response to “The woes of home ownership”

  1. Good luck! =)

Leave a Reply

