If I were marooned on a deserted island…

…here is a list of the top “10” albums I would want to have with me.

A while back Brandon and I were trying to compile a list of our top ten albums of all time. Of course any top album list is always hotly debated and inevitably the list changes to add the “oh I forgot about them” or the “that album is also great,” and to subtract the “well maybe this album isn’t better than that one” etc. There are just too many fantastic albums out there to narrow the list down that far. So what I am “efforting” to say is that the following list is about 85% solid as far as I am concerned, but addendums and redactions are always a possibility.

Of course I would hope that I had my iPod with me on the island with some way of using solar energy in order to charge the device. Every time I read this list, I think of great albums that deserve a spot among these distinguished few. So please don’t hold me to this for forever, because the list is a living document. =) Anyway, here it is, in NO PARTICULAR ORDER:

• Nick Drake – Pink Moon
• Beatles – White Album
• Ben Folds – Rockin’ the Suburbs
• The Black Keys – Thickfreakness
• Bob Dylan – Greatest Hits (1967)
• Counting Crows – August and Everything After
• Damien Rice – O
• The Doors – The Doors
• Dr. Dre – The Chronic
• Elliot Smith – Figure 8
• The Tallest Man on Earth – Shallow Grave
• Jimi Hendrix Experience – Are You Experienced
• Jimmy Eat World – Bleed American
• Kings of Convenience – Quiet is the New Loud
• Kings of Leon – Aha Shake Heartbreak
• Led Zeppelin – IV
• The Libertines – Up the Bracket
• Nirvana – Incesticide
• Radiohead – OK Computer
• Pink Floyd – Dark Side of the Moon
• Portishead – Roseland NYC (live)
• Rage Against the Machine – Evil Empire
• Rancid – Indestructible
• Robert Johnson – Cross Road Blues
• The Rolling Stones – Hot Rocks 1964-1971
• Stereophonics – Word Gets Around
• Stevie Ray Vaughn – Couldn’t Stand the Weather
• The Strokes – First Impressions of Earth
• Superdrag – Last Call for Vitriol
• Weezer – (blue album)
• Bright Eyes – Lifted or the Story is in the Soil
• Miles Davis – Kind of Blue

Feel free to submit your own lists.

2 Responses to “If I were marooned on a deserted island…”

  1. Gordon Brown Says:

    Nice list – instead of the dylan and stones compilations, I’d suggest Blood on the Tracks and Exile on Main Street. i think they hang together and last better.

  2. Yeah, my friend Brandon and I debated the inclusion of compilations because they aren’t “true” albums, but like I said the list isn’t perfect. I mean who doesn’t love Tangled Up In Blue and although Exile on Main Street is a great album, if I was forced to choose I might go with Beggars Banquet.

Leave a Reply

