Won’t you be my neighbor?

For the past several months, probably even more than a year now, there is a section of west Beaumont that is undergoing a major transformation.  There are developers in the process of building homes, shops, a theater, etc. in this certain section of the Westend.  There is a fence that surrounds the entire area and that fence is sprinkled with various advertisements for different area realtors and other interested parties.  There is this one real estate lady and every time I drove by her sign I knew she reminded me of someone.  Well I finally figured it out and I just about fell out of my chair when it hit me.  I know it isn’t nice to make fun of people but this is about as perfect as it gets when it comes to “celebrity” look-alikes.

Everyone remembers when the trolley would come whistling out of the wall on Mr. Rogers’ Neighborhood and we would all be whisked away to the neighborhood of make-believe.  King Friday and all of his subjects like Daniel Striped Tiger, Henrietta Pussycat and X the Owl.  I remember Daniel Striped Tiger had been trained to not bite anyone and he only bit his food.  Anyway, there was also Lady Elaine Fairchilde and her lack of self confidence.  Lady Elaine was always a bit creepy to me.  She had those really red cheeks and that long red nose.  Something about her gave me the heeby jeebies if you will.  Well Lady Elaine brings me to my previous topic of the local real estate lady.  In my opinion they could be sisters.  What do you think?

4-29-2009-8-08-14-am

Again, I know it isn’t nice to make fun of people, but seriously the resemblance is uncanny!  And speaking of Mr. Rogers and look-alikes, what about Harry Connick Jr. and Mr. Rogers himself?

4-29-2009-7-52-47-am

Funny stuff.  By the way, what ever happened to You Cant Do That on Television?  Oooooooooh Alisdair?  And…”Ready, aaaiiiim…Wait!…Stop the execution…” (the firing squad)  That was a funny show. Oh well, I don’t know.  (I just got slimed.)

3 Responses to “Won’t you be my neighbor?”

  1. Yeah, I think the relation between the neighbors are important in every respects.

  2. HAHAHA. I loved You Can’t Do That on Television!

  3. I was recently thinking about ‘You Can’t Do that on Television.” What an effed up show. The following skits come to mind:

    Barth Burger – A burger joint at which the neurotic/paranoid chef causes patrons to vomit. He gathers the vomit in a bucket and uses it to make more burgers. I also recall an episode where he hinted that he actually used a kid for burger meat.

    The Firing Squad – Invariably, some kid is about to be executed. He/she stops the execution and either pleads for their life to be spared or tries to outsmart the executioner(s).

    The Dungeon – Kids are locked up in a dungeon – bound by shackles. Skeletons are hanging next to them. The dungeon keeper comes in and sarcastically reminds them that they’ll eventually die there.

    Blip’s Arcade – Crazy old codger owns an arcade where every machine is ripping the kids off. He’s always on the look-out for a new machine that can more effectively rob the kids blind.

    That’s all I can think of off the top of my head. Oh, what about the household with the drunk father with paint on his shirt and insane mom who was always wearing rubber yellow gloves…even when she wasn’t doing dishes.

    And the intro to the show, itself. A kid-making factory where kids are made by machines and then shat out of a faucet into a school bus.

    wtf?!

    What a messed up show.

Leave a Reply

