Angel on my shoulder

The recent deaths of Ed McMahon, Farrah Fawcet, Michael Jackson and now Billy Mays just happened to coincide with a life altering event in my life.  It is hard to believe that 12 years ago today my life was forever changed.  Two of my three best friends (Mikel wasn’t with us that night) and I were involved in a car accident in which only two of us walked away.   I won’t go into detail about the accident, but it was a very difficult time for all of my friends and family who loved Kevin as a brother, friend, or classmate.

There isn’t a day that goes by where I don’t think about Kevin.  I constantly think about how much fun he would have with Jenny’s daughter Bailey.  He would pick on her just like he used to pick on Jenny because they are exactly alike.  He would probably be working on air conditioners with Mr Barefield or Mr. Magee.  I know he would definitely give me a hard time about the fact that Bella has a big head.  I can just see him with that little smirk and that laugh making fun of Bella or Bailey.  I miss him a lot.  Even 12 years later is still hard to talk about sometimes and it is still hard to think that he is gone.  Of course I know he is in a better place with no war, no pain, no worries.

The sudden death of anyone whether famous or a close loved one reminds us all just how short life can be and that we should all live it to the fullest.  I know that sounds cliche’ but there really isn’t anything else to say to convey that same message.  So take a little bit of time today to pray for the families and friends of the fallen, especially our soldiers as we approach the 4th.  Pray for Mrs. Johnson.  Take the time to just hug your loved ones today and tell them you love them.

Kevin, we miss you and we love you.  Hammer on it!

AngelOnMyShoulder

current music: Miles Davis – Kind of Blue

5 Responses to “Angel on my shoulder”

  1. That sure does make me cry. That was a very sad time. I miss Kevin and that special way he would say, “Ms. Barney, you are out of groceries.”

  2. Amen…we must take nothing for granted. Hug your loved ones, people.

  3. You have done an amazing job of keeping Kevin’s memory alive for those who loved him. I know this must be a comfort to his mom, especially. I wish I had known him!

  4. WOW! I have never read this one before (Angel On My Shoulder). I think about Kevin a lot too. I can’t believe that we all went through such a horrible tragedy at such young ages. I was 15. I remember how painful it was to hear that “Kevin didn’t make it”, and how hard the visitation and funeral was for all of us. Poor Mrs. Johnson. We felt bad for her then, but now that I’m a mother….GOD! It is gut wrenchingly painful to even THINK about anything like that happening to either of my kids. I don’t know how she dealt with that. I don’t know how any mother deals or copes with losing a child. And I agree, it would be awesome to have him here now, we would still be close to him. James would like his personality too, lol. He would be like you with Bailey and spend time with her and play with her every time they were around each other…..and of course make fun of her to no end!! He would give her the hardest time about that little attitude she has! I miss him. We always said that his loss would forever bond all of us and it definitely has. We’ll NEVER forget that time in our lives…before and after Kevin. Christophee, you’re still like a brother to me and I love you! (and I didn’t misspell Christopher, I used to call him Christophee)

Leave a Reply

